The Anthony Howard Award for Young Journalists 2020

Here's a superb opportunity to spend a year working at the top of British journalism at two prestigious publications, the New Statesman and The Times – and win £26,500.

The prize was established in memory of the editor, writer and broadcaster Anthony Howard. Last year's winner, George Grylls, is currently completing fellowships with those titles, both of which are closely associated with Howard.

Recognised as one of the most acute political commentators of his generation and a familiar face and voice on TV and radio, editor Howard was also an incisive judge of new talent. With this in mind, Lord Heseltine set up the award to honour the memory of his lifelong friend, a commitment that now continues through the two titles.

Applicants are now invited for the 2020 prize.

Working or aspiring journalists under the age of 27 should submit a detailed proposal for a 5,000-word piece on an aspect of British politics and government, displaying the qualities that Howard most looked for in a writer: flair, imagination and wit. The winner will receive £26,500 and work for six months at the New Statesman and six months at The Times, starting in October.

George Grylls, 24, triumphed last year with a proposal to investigate the rise of the YouTube politician. He wrote: “We know that Twitter is Donald Trump’s platform of choice, yet very little study has been dedicated to the way in which political voices and beliefs are cultivated for the YouTube generation.”

Jacob Rees-Mogg, Tommy Robinson, Nigel Farage and Jess Phillips were among those he believed owed political success to YouTube. “Politics currently favours firmly-held beliefs that are aggressively defended, in part, I would argue, because they are most easily editable into short online clips.”

Applicants for the 2020 prize should send their proposal, an example of their writing (maximum 800 words) and a short CV, including contact details, to

Applications will close at 23.59 on Friday 17 April 2020.

This year's prize will be determined by Lord Hennessy, representatives from the New Statesman and The Times, and previous winners.




George Grylls won the 2019 Award

"The great pleasure of editing a paper is the chance you are given to encourage talent"

Anthony Howard, 2008